732-702-1495 [email protected]

The Association of Mathematics Teachers of New Jersey Awards One Scholarship for 2022

Joan J. Vas, Executive Coordinator Scholarship Program

For the 2021-2022 school year, AMTNJ awarded one student a $5,000 scholarship.  This year’s awardee is Abigail Scheer, Pascack Valley High School, sponsored by Dr. Mark Russo, District Supervisor of Mathematics and Computer Science, Pascack Valley Regional High School District.

Abigail will be attending The College of New Jersey in the fall.  She wrote in her essay that “I have developed many qualities that will help me connect with my students; hard worker, friendly nature, approachability and knowledge in the field I want to teach. They will help me build relationships with my students while allowing me to successfully deliver content.”  It should be noted that as a senior, Abigail enrolled in a course called Introduction to Education/Teacher Cadet Program.  She is learning about teaching styles, barriers to learning and information about special education.  As part of the course, she is interning, four days a week, in an Algebra I and II class.  Each day, her responsibility is to review the drill at the board in front of the class and assist individual student questions during independent practice.  This experience has provided her with valuable practice in speaking to a group of students, planning activities and responding to student questions.  Abigail says, “Being with my mentor has really inspired me.”

I also need to mention that her nominating AMTNJ member, Dr. Mark Russo, visited her during her intern class.  Dr. Russo says, “it is clear to me that she is eager to learn teaching practices, has a genuine interest and affinity for math and, based on her work in the Cadet Program, is committed to becoming a great math teacher.”

Congratulations to our awardee and thanks to Dr. Mark Russo for recommending this outstanding candidate.  Abigail will have the opportunity to reapply for this scholarship for the next three years.

To date, 66 candidates have received this initial scholarship.  Once the initial award has been made, these awardees are contacted for the next three years and given the chance to apply for a renewal scholarship. This May we have six previous awardees who will have this opportunity available to them.

The amount of the renewal scholarship is dependent upon available funds at that time.  Members should visit the AMTNJ web site, www.amtnj.org, for the latest scholarship application and additional information for those who wish to make a tax-deductible contribution to the program.

Special thanks to the Scholarship Committee consisting of AMTNJ President Andrea Bean, along with Jelena Komitas, Thomas Walsh, Julie Norflus Good, Anna Maria Graf and Joan J. Vas, Executive Coordinator of the AMTNJ Scholarship Program.  It should be noted that this is the 26th year that AMTNJ has awarded scholarships to graduating high school seniors interested in a career in mathematics education.

Thank you to the AMTNJ Executive Board and the AMTNJ membership for their continued support of this program.  Special thanks to President Andrea Bean for her generous support of this program.